Poor poor poptarts.

January 30, 2009 at 6:10 am 6 comments

After polishing-off the last two raspberry poptarts in my cupboard tonight I got to wondering how the endless battle of poptarts vs. toasters strudel has been developing..

Last I checked the commercials were still the same:
The poor deprived kid with the deadbeat mother was secretly getting magnificent, delicious toaster strudels from another kid at school who had a really hip, awesome mom.

But it’s been a few years..

So after some extensive reseach
(2 google searches and 5 minutes of reading)
My professional opinion of the general public is this:

People like poptarts. But once they go strudel, there’s no turnin back.

Not me.

I agree that toasters strudels are better than poptarts, but that doesn’t mean you can’t still enjoy a sweet, simple poptart
Don’t think of it as lame..
you should instead think of it as …humble?

p.s. you are supposed to butter the unfrosted side of poptarts, just like toast – it makes a world of difference!

What would happen if a poptart and a toaster strudel had a baby together??

Entry filed under: Randomness. Tags: , , , .

Notes to self: Crazy Crazy

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. caseymarie88  |  February 2, 2009 at 1:39 am

    I had no idea that you were suppose to butter the unfrosted side of a toasted pop-tart…
    Oddly enough, I have wondered about the love child between a pop-tart and a toaster strudel. I asked my friends (who are also fond of random discussions) and we have come to the conclusion that the love child would be flaky like a strudel and be pre-frosted like a pop-tart…and it would be called the Strutart. Hoght I would pass that along.

    Reply
    • 2. originalhoopla  |  February 2, 2009 at 5:01 am

      The Stutart!!

      this sounds delicious..some one should come-up with a recipe. I want one right now!

      Reply
  • 3. electricdynamite  |  February 2, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    The thought of buttering Pop Tarts has never once crossed my mind. Now that I think about it, it sounds pretty American.

    And delicious. Makes me want to run out and buy some just to try it.

    Reply
    • 4. originalhoopla  |  February 3, 2009 at 2:06 am

      Yeah that had crossed my mind that it was very American.
      I asked a few people if they had ever heard of buttering poptarts and they said no..
      then I wondered if the poptart people had intended for people to do so or if us butter-lovin Americans just decided to “pump up the flavor…?”
      I should write to the poptart people.

      Reply
  • 5. braydog  |  February 2, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    so i think you would end up with a poppintroodle if a pop tart and toaster strudel did it

    Reply
    • 6. originalhoopla  |  February 3, 2009 at 2:06 am

      oooh snap. That’s way more fun to say than Strutart!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

