The Introduction

August 30, 2010 at 2:38 am Leave a comment

Blog Post #1 for ENGL 4861

To be a writer you must be a reader.

I’ve lived in Bemidji, Minnesota my entire life.

I’ve been a passionate writer since first grade. My desire to tell stories, however, was apparent long before learning to spell.

Fiction is my favorite genre. I read to escape, explore, and learn:     these are the same reasons I write.

My forever favorite book is The Giver by Lois Lowry.

I’ve read it once a year since 1997, and I discover new details and meaning every time.

I also love The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran. His beautiful, powerful lessons are, in my opinion, often more meaningful than scriptures from The Bible.

 I find Kurt Vonnegut to be the most inspirational writer.

His brilliance and witty, dry humor remind me of my father. 3 years before his death in 2007, Vonnegut wrote A Man Without a Country, which is my favorite of the many incredible pieces he’s published.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Hello Old Friend Midsummer – A Poem I Read

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

