Midsummer – A Poem I Read

September 1, 2010 at 4:11 pm 1 comment

Blog #2 for ENGL 4861

Louise Gluck is the author of “Midsummer,” a beautiful poem about youth and young adulthood.

I am taken back to age fifteen, still childish in many ways but desiring for mature, new experiences.

At the core of this poem is the aspect of danger that comes with growing-up. Beauty and intrigue mixed with danger is compared to high rocks: how much fun they are to climb and jump from, yet so lethal if one was to slip or fall.

“On cloudy nights, you were blind. Those nights the rocks were,                  ( ln. 10)

dangerous,

but in another way it was all dangerous, that was what we were after.”

This is my favorite line in the poem, showing the audience exactly what our characters are feeling.

After reading “Midsummer” I am reminded that youth can still be found after the time of danger and desire. I can let my free time pass slowly, enjoying every last bite of a ripe peach.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Introduction Our Pointy Boots

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. firstdrafty  |  September 8, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Even when I was 16, I knew I would never be that age again — and I tried to live as much as I could. This poem brought me back to that girl and those times.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

