When You Read Something Stirring…

September 13, 2010 at 6:33 am 1 comment

This short bit of reading gave me such a strong feeling of deja vu, I felt like Kim Addonizio had used my brain and my hand to write  “How To Succeed In Po Biz.”

The brutal, ugly truth illustrated in this piece makes me uneasy; but I am happy at the same time because some one else has experienced similar things that I have experienced; not only as a writer, but also as a human.

“Humans who are writers are a devastation. Writers plunder,excavate, and strip mine without regard for the consequences to others. They suck their loved ones dry of vital fluids, revealing their beloveds’ deepest fears and yearnings. They expose the most precious secrets of their friends and family, and then take the credit and get the applause.”

“Feel anxious because you are basically a private person and can’t live up to the persona that is floating out there in the world acting tougher and braver than you. You are a writer, after all, and prefer to be alone in your own house with your cat.”

 

It’s eerie and haunting because it is true; the life of a writer is not one that is glamorous, and this painfully honest writers guide reminds me to be patient, persistent, and most of all humble.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Our Pointy Boots The Favorite – Blog #5

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. firstdrafty  |  September 13, 2010 at 10:09 am

    I would rather be at home with my cats than most other places, it’s true. I think you hit on the part of this piece that was disturbing and accurate to me, too: writers do expose secrets. But I’m not sure how often we get applause for it! Still, it’s an impulse that not most people have — to make public what is personal and sometimes painful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

